A Kindergarten Moment

I’m not sure I really know how we got here.

DSC_0650DSC_0647DSC_0648DSC_0653

Because just a second ago, he looked like this…

IMG_3440

And it doesn’t even feel like it’s been that long since this…

IMG_1664Kindergarten, y’all. It’s big. Really big. Up until this point in Elijah’s life, I have spent the vast majority of his waking hours with him. He has gone to preschool for several years, but not every day and even on those days only until 12 or 1 pm. Starting tomorrow, he will be at school from 8:15-3:15. That seems like an eternity, even though I have reassured him that he will be having so much fun he won’t even have time to miss me.

Today was sort of an orientation day where Elijah just went for a short visit. Tears were shed, but the teachers ushered Elijah and the other children into the classroom so gently and lovingly I knew he would be fine and that he was in the right school.

As Remy and I walked to the car, Remy stopped and turned and looked up at me. “Remy miss Elijah”. Yup, that was the sound of my heart breaking just a little bit. Remy loves her partner in crime-I think she’ll be very excited to start school herself in a few weeks.

When we came to pick him up, Elijah had a huge smile on his face and asked if he could stay and play for a while. When we did leave, he was bursting to tell us about his day. For those of you that care: he built with trains and made a castle and was a king and read a book about a raccoon that didn’t want to go to school (“Just like me!”) and another book with a monster “that had five or a thousand eyes”. He told us at least four times that he had a great day, which I think is a pretty good sign.

I’m still not really sure how we got to this point so quickly, but I think we’re all really excited to be here.
DSC_0662DSC_0664

This entry was posted in education, Elijah Bean, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

