Make Truffles for Your Lovey….

DSC_0597

…or for yourself….or for your co-workers….or…just make these truffles. They are super easy, and you can basically make any flavor you want. My first batch was lavender, topped with a candied violet.

DSC_0574

DSC_0580

I wanted to infuse the next batch with some loose tea, and I found some dried mint from our garden that I had totally forgotten about. I apologize to anyone who recently who had tea at my house and who asked if I had mint. Because I totally lied and told you I didn’t when I did.

But I digress.

I used a recipe from The Artful Vegan as my base. It’s one of the few recipes from this totally awesome cookbook (from Millennium, probably my favorite veg restaurant in the world) that doesn’t include like 50 steps and lots of weird ingredients. I used 70% cacao for the lavender batch and 60% cacao for the mint. I would recommend using the 60% or doing a mix of the two.

(Almost) Any Flavor Chocolate Truffles
1/2 cup coconut milk
1-2 Tbsp dried tea leaves, flowers, or whatever you want to flavor the truffles with
6 oz bittersweet chocolate, 60-70% cacao
Optional toppings or dustings like candied flowers, cocoa powder, sanding sugar, etc

DSC_0576

1. Bring 1/2 cup coconut milk to a simmer over medium heat. Add in lavender flowers, mint leaves, tea leaves, etc. Turn off the heat, cover, and let steep for at least 10 minutes.

DSC_0582

2. Chop up the chocolate if it is in bar form. Using a double boiler, melt the chocolate. If you, like the majority of the population do not possess a double boiler (I don’t think I have ever actually seen one), make your own. Put a little water in the bottom of a small pot and place a glass bowl on top, so that it is suspended above the water and NOT touching it (I have a pyrex that fits perfectly, but you may have to MacGyver something). Place the chocolate in the bowl and turn up the heat so that the water comes to a simmer.

DSC_0585

3. Stir the chocolate frequently so it melts without sticking and burning. Once melted remove from heat.

4. Hold a fine-mesh sieve over the chocolate and pour the coconut milk over it, pressing down on the leaves or flowers to squeeze out any excess liquid. Whisk the coconut milk into the melted chocolate.

DSC_0593

5. Let the mixture cool slightly, then refrigerate for about 2 hours. Using a melon baller or tablespoon, scoop out the chocolate truffles. Unless you are a perfectionist, don’t worry if the chocolates are not perfectly formed. They are still super tasty. Use any leftovers as shavings for ice cream (Yum!). Keep refrigerated if not serving. Makes about 16-20 truffles.

DSC_0587

This entry was posted in recipe, vegan recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

