A little Ghana nostalgia

FH000014

Sometimes my aching for Africa surprises me. There is literally no way I would travel there at this point. I can’t imagine going that far away without my kids. But traveling with them at this age on those flights-non, merci!

I recently uploaded some of my photos from our honeymoon in Ghana onto our computer at home. It has been a long, strange trip since those days, but I wanted to share some of these images with you. My Dad remarked once in the year or two after we returned from Ghana that we didn’t really talk about our experience that much. Which struck me as strange since I thought about it and continue to think about it fairly often. I think about it when I am cooking and have a moment of gratitude that I can cook our meals easily and efficiently in our modern (indoor) kitchen. I think about it when we discuss school options for Elijah and Remy and then remember the “school” in our village which had no books and many fewer pencils than students (they were good about sharing), and whose metal roof made it impossible for learning to take place when it was raining. I thought about it a lot this year as I was having health issues and imagined how much more difficult it would be to have UC or any medical issue there.

Ghana is a friendly place, and the people we met laughed with us as we mangled their language and took us on walks in the rainforest, and taught us more life lessons than I can write about in a blog post. It was a haunting place too, but I’ll share those thoughts in another post. For now, PICTURES!

Pineapple in Twi is "ab-ro-bay". At least I think that's what it is.

Pineapple in Twi is “ab-ro-bay”. At least I think that’s what it is.

Doesn't Joe look like a little baby here?! So cute!

Doesn’t Joe look like a little baby here?! So cute!FH000001

So pretty! And not even styled for a photo shoot.

So pretty! And not even styled for a photo shoot.

FH000010

I was amazingly bad at hand-washing laundry

I was amazingly bad at hand-washing laundry

And carrying water on my head. It was so much harder than the kids make it look.

And carrying water on my head. It was so much harder than the kids make it look.

They named a school after us. And then maybe changed the name when the next volunteers came :)

They named a school after us. And then maybe changed the name when the next volunteers came 🙂

Adua getting examined by her mommy.

Adua getting examined by her mommy.

"We LOVE having our picture taken!!!!!"

“We LOVE having our picture taken!!!!!”

This entry was posted in africa, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A little Ghana nostalgia

  1. hyllean says:

    I would be thrilled to visit this amazing place…

Leave a Reply

